Sowande Tichawonna | KEEN Greater DC

Sowande Tichawonna

Sowande Tichawonna is an award-winning, independent filmmaker and actor from Washington, D.C. He is CEO of RMTAP, a digital media content and distribution company.
As a member of the Association of Independent Video and Filmmakers (AIVF) based in New York, Tichawonna co-founded the AIVF-DC salon where he served as chair of the organization from 1994 to 2000. The salon hosted monthly workshops and screenings that covered all aspects of the film and television industry.
His credits include executive producer and director of photography for the documentary Straight Up Go-Go (1992); writer/producer/director of the short film Talkin’ Shop (2000) for which he won the 2000 Mayor’s Arts Award for Outstanding Emerging Artist.  Tichawonna won the 2010 Larry Neal Writer’s Award for his screenplay, The New “N” Word (2010) starring Erik Todd Dellums, Rain Pryor and James “JJ” Johnson. In addition, The New “N” Word received a 2011 Best Diaspora Short Film nomination by the African Movie Academy.  The New “N” Word is now a YouTube web series with viewership in over 25 countries spanning 5 continents.
As an actor, Tichawonna’s credits include starring roles in the stage plays, The Home and For The Love Oscar and the ID series, Who The Bleep Did I Marry? He has also appeared in Law & Order: SVU on NBC. His film credits include Mine This Christmas, N.O.S. and Nocturnal Agony.
He is currently in development on a TV series set in Washington, D.C. He is also co- executive producer of the documentary, The American LOWS and producer of a forthcoming documentary on the life of Ted Corbitt, founder of ultramarathon running.
As a member of the National Alzheimer’s Project Act (NAPA) Advisory Council, established by President Barack Obama, Tichawonna served on the Long Term Services and Support subcommittee (2015-2019).
He holds a BA in Broadcast Production from Howard University. He lives in Washington, DC with his wife, Nicole and son, Damani, who has been an active KEEN athlete since 2006.

Board of Directors